June 16, 2003

Rockport crew second in regatta; Local crew loses lead late; Marblehead crew edges Rockport's Hales

Staff writer

A crew from Marblehead stole the spotlight from Rockport sailors.

After Saturday's Day Two of the Rhodes 19 East Coast Championship off Sandy Bay, the Rockport team of Scott Hale, his wife, Debbie, and their granddaughter, Rachel, held an overall lead.

But it was Marblehead's Kim Pandapas who had a strong Day Three of sailing yesterday, enabling that crew to squeeze by the Hales for the overall regatta victory.

Yesterday, the Marblehead boats finished strong. Pandapas won the first race and Trees and MacAdoo the second. The latter crew finished fourth overall, one of five Marblehead crews to finish in the top six for the overall regatta.

Marblehead's Steve Uhl placed third. Rockport's Kevin Lane (seventh) and Kirk Williamson (10th) cracked the top 10.

The regatta began Friday with two races in light breezes out of the East and concluded with two races in a 15 knot south westerly.

Team Hale showed the rest of the Rhodes 19 field of former East Coast and national champions how it is done by winning the first race of the series and placing third in the second to lead the series after the first day.

The second day featured plenty of tide and not much wind out of the North. Many boats could not round the first mark because of the tide and eventually abandoned the race.

Rockport boats led the way by finishing first (Lane), second (Williamson), third (Charlie Clark) and fourth (Scott Hale).

The second race that was scheduled was canceled due to lack of wind. The Hales continued to lead the regatta after day two.

Day three was the best of the weekend with blue skies and a strong breeze out of the Southwest.

This marked the third time since 2000 the Sandy Bay Yacht Club hosted a major sailing event. In 1993, 1996 and 2000, fleet 36 hosted the East Coast Championship and in 1994 held the National Championship in Sandy Bay.

In 2001, Sandy Bay hosted the three-day United States Optimist Dinghy Association's New England Championship. The race was the largest single class regatta ever held on Cape Ann.


1. Kim Pandapas, Marblehead

2. Scott Hale, Rockport

3. Stephan Uhl, Marblehead

4. Trees and McAdoo, Marblehead

5. Jerry Blouin, Marblehead

6. Mike Lane, Marblehead

7. Kevin Lane, Rockport

8. Mike Hebert, Hingham

9. Ken Wilson, Hingham

10. Kirk Williamson, Rockport

11. Charlie Clark, Rockport

12. Brian Bones, Rockport

13. J and M Thompson, Rockport

14. John Economides, Cottage Park

15. Terry Cronberg, Marblehead

16. Jim Liddington, Rockport