SBYC BurgeeSandy Bay Yacht Club
Weather Center


 

Tsunami Information Statement Eastern U.S. - Issued When Needed
Check the date

Expires:No;;609454
WEXX32 PAAQ 110238
TIBATE

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS National Tsunami Warning Center Palmer AK
938 PM EST Mon Dec 10 2018

...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT FOR THE U.S. EAST COAST,
  GULF OF MEXICO STATES, AND EASTERN CANADA...

EVALUATION
----------
* There is no tsunami danger for the U.S. east coast, the Gulf of 
  Mexico states, or the eastern coast of Canada. 

* Based on the depth of the earthquake, a tsunami is not 
  expected. 

* An earthquake has occurred with parameters listed below. 


PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS
---------------------------------
* The following parameters are based on a rapid preliminary
  assessment and changes may occur.

* Magnitude	  7.3
* Origin Time	  2126	EST Dec 10 2018
		  2026	CST Dec 10 2018
		  2226	AST Dec 10 2018
		  0226	UTC Dec 11 2018
* Coordinates	  58.5 South 26.2 West
* Depth	  109 miles
* Location	  in the South Sandwich Islands region, South
Atlantic Ocean


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NEXT UPDATE
--------------------------------------
* Refer to the internet site tsunami.gov for more information. 

* Caribbean coastal regions should refer to the Pacific 
  Tsunami Warning Center messages at tsunami.gov. 

* This will be the only U.S. National Tsunami Warning Center 
  message issued for this event unless additional information 
  becomes available. 

$$


 

 



home

Copyright © Sandy Bay Yacht Club. All rights reserved.